elisabethdanielsons

Seek justice, love mercy, walk humbly with your God.

Scoop Up the Dirt

on March 8, 2013

I’m not sure if I can believe it myself, but this is the second blog post in a week! I know, I know I’m outdoing myself today! But I just had to update you on the super exciting project we completed at our apartments today!

We finished sifting dirt and made our community garden for the apartments this morning. We have been working on this project for quite a few weeks, and I’ve been super excited about the whole thing. I’ve always loved the thought of having my own garden of fresh veggies. I’ve been really interested in this the past year specifically thinking about how much things cost at the store, the need to be more environmentally friendly and sustainable, and to be more healthy. So we did this awesome fast… had a work day a month or so ago but still had more work to do. We had planted some seeds in the office but not very many survived because of the amount of time they were in the office. I discovered that plants are hard to grow inside! Well anyway, we worked today on getting the soil ready because the area we were planting had a lot of rocks and debris in it…. We used screens and sifted through the dirt and got rid of all of the “bad stuff.” I used an awesome online tool to map out the garden that told me how much room things would take. We even have a very creative and decorative border (think random bricks and rocks).

So the seeds have been sown and the starter plants have been planted. I’m hopeful everything will grow cause I’m going to be pretty sad if it doesn’t. Knowing my luck I’ll have 500 zucchini in the summer and get really tired of all of the different varieties. The thought was on the weekend to have a stand to give away the fresh produce to people walking by on the street. My hope is that I can connect more with the community around us through this garden! Who knew I’d be a community garden coordinator as well as curriculum coordinator at Project Transformation! I’ll make sure to post pictures as everything starts to grow!

Well, that’s about all for the day. Happy weekend everybody!

Elisabeth

Leave a Reply

thatshowthelightgetsin.wordpress.com/

"There's a crack in everything. That's how the light gets in." (Leonard Cohen)

The Search for Paradise Falls

Adventure is out there

Randalls' Reflections

sporadic thoughts and photos from the journey

Reverse Exiled

...when wandering is the essence of Home...

Desiringshalom's Blog

A Missionary's experience in Los Angeles

michelle.

my bell. these are words that go together well.

The Joy of serving

My call to mission and the updates of my mission work.

theorymeetspractice

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

uniquebeautyrising

Missionary to Missouri :)

JOY toda world

A mission journey with God's people (toda la gente) of the world.

In Lightness

...and the darkness could not overcome it.

Changing the Norm

The Play by Play. Unedited (no really).

Empty Pockets

My experience as a Missionary in Japan!

Mission Flow BlueZ

Misbehave With Purpose

WalkingWithMemphis

Follow my service as a US-2 missionary

Never Stop Speaking

STORIES FROM MY TIME IN MINISTRY "WITH"

Breaking Boundaries

This a blog that will be about my journey as a Mission Intern in Hong Kong working with migrant worker rights

