elisabethdanielsons

Seek justice, love mercy, walk humbly with your God.

Home

on June 5, 2013

So I’ve been thinking a lot about my job lately. I’ve been here for almost a year! I can’t believe it! In away it feels like I was just in missionary training preparing to go somewhere I’ve never been, but in some ways I feel like I’ve always been here. There are many reasons why I feel this way.
I don’t know if you all know this, but one of the main worries I had before coming here was that I would be homesick. I have never lived more than a few hours away from “home,” and I’ve always called my parent’s house home even when I had my own apartment while I was teaching. It was always, “Hey Mom, I’m coming home this weekend.” Don’t get me wrong, I didn’t go home every weekend but I always used my parents and their house as my refuge from my frustruations in life. Whenever I was stressed out, I would head up to their house, and it would be just like it was when I was in high school. I never realized it but part of my problem was just that. I didn’t truly feel like a grown up because I was still depending on my mom and dad to rescue me and help solve my problems. Now don’t get me wrong, I have wonderfully amazing parents, but I think there is a point in your life where you need to pull away from your parents to help you find yourself. And living this far away from them has allowed me to realize I can be happy without depending on them to make me happy.
I know though that a lot of this feeling of ease and independence has a lot to do with the environment that my placement site has created for me. I work with an amazing group of people. There is something truly unique about all of the people in my office. When I first got here I remember getting trained in what my job was going to be and where I would fit into the organization. I learned a little about everyone else’s job and then pretty much the next day I was planning trainings for the interns who were coming. There is something about immediately being put in a leadership position that caused me to dig right in. I also love that questions and evaluation is encouraged. One of the most beautiful things about Project Transformation is that we are constantly trying to change things that are not working and finding ways to improve things that could be better. There is so much growth and energy in this kind of environment that I can just feel myself thriving.
Now I say all of this today because we are currently in training 101 interns who next week will be in charge of planning and implementing programming for children 1-11 grade at 10 sites in Dallas and Denison, TX. I find this amazing. These are college-aged young adults who may or may not be education majors. We are giving them a structure of tools and resources, but then pretty much turning the program over to them! WOW! This is so unique and amazing. I’m really enjoying getting to know them. I’m looking forward to having a great summer with all of these wonderful people!
It’s so amazing to me that in less than a year I can truly call Dallas, Texas my home. I have a little more than a year left in service, and I’m already hoping that I can either stay with Project Transformation or find another similar job here. I originally thought that I would do my two years of service and then try to go back to Missouri, but now I know that I’ll be okay wherever I end up. And man, that’s comforting! I can make a place “home” no matter where I go.

Leave a Reply

thatshowthelightgetsin.wordpress.com/

"There's a crack in everything. That's how the light gets in." (Leonard Cohen)

The Search for Paradise Falls

Adventure is out there

Randalls' Reflections

sporadic thoughts and photos from the journey

Reverse Exiled

...when wandering is the essence of Home...

Desiringshalom's Blog

A Missionary's experience in Los Angeles

michelle.

my bell. these are words that go together well.

The Joy of serving

My call to mission and the updates of my mission work.

theorymeetspractice

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

uniquebeautyrising

Missionary to Missouri :)

JOY toda world

A mission journey with God's people (toda la gente) of the world.

In Lightness

...and the darkness could not overcome it.

Changing the Norm

The Play by Play. Unedited (no really).

Empty Pockets

My experience as a Missionary in Japan!

Mission Flow BlueZ

Misbehave With Purpose

WalkingWithMemphis

Follow my service as a US-2 missionary

Never Stop Speaking

STORIES FROM MY TIME IN MINISTRY "WITH"

Breaking Boundaries

This a blog that will be about my journey as a Mission Intern in Hong Kong working with migrant worker rights

