elisabethdanielsons

Seek justice, love mercy, walk humbly with your God.

Connections

on November 4, 2013

So it’s been a VERY long time since I have written on my blog, and I’m not really sure the reason other than I just haven’t felt like it. I’ve been very busy at work with the start of our afterschool program. This is probably my favorite time of year because I get to go to our different sites and help our interns with their programs. I love giving people ideas and just being a sounding board in general. I by no means am an expert in child development, classroom management, or curriculum, but I do have some experience and sometimes just a fresh set of eyes is needed to help in any situation.

Well that’s a little update on what is going on in my world, but I really wanted to post about something that happened this past week that reminded me how connected the church can be.

So a little background info on this story… my birthday was this past Monday and I discovered that my driver’s license expired on my birthday. Now in some states you can renew your license online but not in Missouri. You have to physically be present in the state to renew your license. Normally that wouldn’t be a big deal but I currently live 6ish hours away from the closest city in  Missouri. So I had to plan a road trip. My original plan was to drive to Missouri on Friday, catch up with some of my college friends, spend the night in Southwest Missouri and then drive back to Texas on Saturday. I asked some of these friends if they wanted to do something but nobody responded in time for me to make plans so I was debating on what to do.

So as you know I’m a US-2 missionary through the United Methodist Church. I’ve been doing this for a little over a year, and this summer there was a new class of missionaries commissioned. I’ve been blog stalking the ones who are blogging to see how they are doing. I think it’s because I remember how I felt when we were trained and sent out and I want to be in prayer for them and also want to be there as a support if necessary. There is a new US-2 in Oklahoma City who I’ve been following and in one blog she talked about starting an afterschool program. I was sooo excited that I commented on her blog that this is what I was doing and if she wanted some support I could totally help her! I know I am such a nerd!

Anyway, she emailed me and we were planning on Skyping about Project Transformation and our afterschool program, but last week I Facebook messaged her and said I’d be going through Oklahoma if she wanted to get together. So of course she said yes cause this church has crazy connections. She even let me stay at her apartment Friday night even though we have never met her in person. How crazy is that? Just because we are in the same program, doing similar things she had the faith to open her house to me.

So I went to Missouri, got my license renewed and headed to Oklahoma City. I met up with Kristina and had such a great time getting to know her and her story but also sharing mine. I made a new friend who will probably come and visit me in the next few months.

In the Methodist church, we talk about mutuality in mission: sharing in mission together. This is the idea that we are never alone in our mission fields because there are people who will walk with us along the way. I recently got back from ‘midterms’ where I got to reconnect with my class of US-2s, and I have also enjoyed getting to know the new class of young adult missionaries through their blogs and stories. So if you are in my class, keep posting because I love hearing about how you are doing. If you are in the new class same thing. If you are a friend or supporter of mine or someone that just happened upon this blog, please pray for us as we continue in our mission work because through your prayers and support, we are able to continue making connections in communities around the world.

One response to “Connections

  1. Hannah says:

    Thank you for being such a great connector! Glad you and Kristina got to meet in person!

Leave a Reply

thatshowthelightgetsin.wordpress.com/

"There's a crack in everything. That's how the light gets in." (Leonard Cohen)

The Search for Paradise Falls

Adventure is out there

Randalls' Reflections

sporadic thoughts and photos from the journey

Reverse Exiled

...when wandering is the essence of Home...

Desiringshalom's Blog

A Missionary's experience in Los Angeles

michelle.

my bell. these are words that go together well.

The Joy of serving

My call to mission and the updates of my mission work.

theorymeetspractice

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

uniquebeautyrising

Missionary to Missouri :)

JOY toda world

A mission journey with God's people (toda la gente) of the world.

In Lightness

...and the darkness could not overcome it.

Changing the Norm

The Play by Play. Unedited (no really).

Empty Pockets

My experience as a Missionary in Japan!

Mission Flow BlueZ

Misbehave With Purpose

WalkingWithMemphis

Follow my service as a US-2 missionary

Never Stop Speaking

STORIES FROM MY TIME IN MINISTRY "WITH"

Breaking Boundaries

This a blog that will be about my journey as a Mission Intern in Hong Kong working with migrant worker rights

